The Awakening

6 Mar

I didn’t know I was being abused.I refuse to use the term “victim” to describe myself.I was leaving because I thought I was losing large parts of myself in the relationship and I needed to take a step back to find strength in myself before moving forward with the person I wanted to marry. But then…the unthinkable happened and I was met with violence. Violence.See, if I had bothered to even consider that I was in an abusive relationship, I would have known that the most dangerous moment for anyone (man or woman) in an abusive relationship is when they are leaving.And boy – was that moment dangerous. Being pushed into the hallway with no shoes…having my bags thrown into the hall…having her engagement ring hit me in the chest…ducking to avoid getting clocked in the face by a book…watching her rip up a painting I made her for Valentine’s day…watching her rip up our photos and throw them in the trash…feeling her snatch the phone

via The Awakening.

via The Awakening.

