Will African Delegates Always Be Anti-Gay?

16 May

I am a straight, white American male, so I offer the following thoughts haltingly and cautiously.But I want to address other American United Methodists in this post, especially those who are undeniably grief-stricken about the denomination’s position on LGBT folks.Like you, I am waiting anxiously for the day when the church changes its fundamental understanding of homosexuality and its “incompatability” with Christian teaching. Like you, I was disappointed that it didn’t happen this year.I am also aware that, in general, the African delegations are strongly resistant to acceptance of homosexuality. Their voting bloc, which is only going to grow in the future, likely kept anything from changing at General Conference 2012.

via Will African Delegates Always Be Anti-Gay?.

via Will African Delegates Always Be Anti-Gay?.

