Examining The Self-Acceptance Issues Associated With Homosexuality

12 Mar

In my last article on acceptance, I discussed my opinions on the subject of the gay community being accepted by the rest of society. For this one, I’d like to examine the issue of acceptance from another angle. Most people assume that the acceptance of others is the greatest challenge that gay individuals face in coming to terms with their orientation. Often, however, this is not the case.

While gaining the acceptance of others is definitely a challenge, for most of us, it is the issue of self-acceptance that poses the greatest difficulty during the coming out process. For many gay people, the inner conflict which arises from the realization that one is homosexual can be overwhelming. Trying to find peace with a gay identity in one’s own Spirit is, in my opinion, far more difficult than dealing with the prejudice of others…or at least it was for me.

 

Examining The Self-Acceptance Issues Associated With Homosexuality.

via Examining The Self-Acceptance Issues Associated With Homosexuality.

