The divide between transsexualisim & religion

6 Jan

Transsexualisim and religion. Boy is this ever tough. I won’t present myself as an expert on either. Both are really touchy subjects. In a perfect world we would all say that Jesus, Buddah, Muhhamed, or whoever has a place for us and accepts us as is. Well I really don’t know anything about Buddah or Muhhamed so I’ll stick to what I do know at least a little something about. I grew up catholic, actually Roman catholic and yes I had to go to latin masses even after VaticanII. I made my first communion, was confirmed and even taught CCD for awhile. I know, pretty shocking. Even within my own church there seems to be division. One priest tells me transsexuality is an abomination, as is homosexuality, and is an excommunicable offense for those reasons as well as for the desecration of my body. Another agrees that is the churches official stance but thinks in his words “It’s a load of crap, and no different than any other plastic surgery.” He said imagine how empty church would be if everyone that had plastic surgery was excommunicated. A valid point. As far as being gay…Well that was a gray area. The poor guy was too confused by the churches official stance on whether a t-girl is really a girl and if a realtionship with another woman would therefore actually constitute a homosexual act. Confused? We were too.

I haven’t really been in organized religion for a long time. I got out for an assortment of reasons not pertinent here. I came to a point where I made peace with God. I try to carry that in my heart. I think my God is okay with whatever I have to do so long as I don’t hurt anyone in the process. If I were a harelip he wouldn’t be mad at me for getting corrective surgery right? When I had my ears done I doubt he was angered. Well now I’ve gotten something else done. My toolbox just didn’t fit. Never did. So should that be any different? In my eyes it isn’t but perhaps I’m just a bit biased.

I’ve had discussions with people far more versed in the bible than me on both sides of the coin, in the same sitting which is a hair raising experience. Passions do run deep. Each was able to present compelling arguments for both sides while never giving an inch. Certainly there are outstanding exceptions, I know a few, but for the most part, the “Devout”, are pretty damned closed minded about transsexuality. It’s not like it was just invented a few years ago, it’s been around forever. Still they treat it as if it’s so incredibly unnatural. At the funeral of Gwen Arujao they actually picketted her! Can you believe that! People that are supposed to be so in touch with God picketting the funeral of an innocent girl who was MURDERED for who she was, holding up signs like “God hates fags.” among other things. It’s inconceivable.

Some people I know that are what I would consider ultra religious or spiritual accept the whole issue to a degree. The degree being it doesn’t personally effect them. Others are simply closed off to it completely because they claim it is against God. But there is a minority that although not personally crazy about it perhaps seem to deal with it and take the stand that you’ve gotta love everyone, not just the people that are just like you. I wonder why more people can’t be that way. Maybe I’m simplistic and naive at times in my views but people are people and each deserve respect and I can’t remeber seeing anything in the Bible which tells me to not love a person because of their physical differences.

I have seen there are churches which advertise as being progressive and claim to embrace the alt community. Personally I’ve never been to any so I can’t really say anything good or bad. I have heard mixed reviews. I think maybe it’s a good idea. If it makes people feel better and the message is right and they’re non exclusionary then why not. I haven’t found any around where I live. I don’t know if I’d go even if I did. I just always have this image of horror going there and being on my own. I mean even in the GLBT community we sometimes end up on the fringe and to be in that situation AND in a church…Too much to fathom.

I just wonder sometimes if God really is mad at me for what I’ve done. I’d like to say it would matter, but somehow it doesn’t. I lived in pain too long and I suppose I just don’t care anymore. The guilt associated to a finger pointing down from the etheral plane saying “don’t do it or I’ll spank you” just doesn’t seem real. I mean can a loving God that accepts ANYONE that is supposed to love all his children exclude me for this? I dunno. Maybe. I can’t say I’m sorry for what I’m doing. I’m not. I always see those bracelets and stickers with WWJD? Well I wonder. What would he do in my shoes?

2 Responses to “The divide between transsexualisim & religion”

  1. redmetta January 6, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    Thank you for a very well written and thought provoking post. I am aware that India has a (spiritual) tradition involving the castration of men, (involving the removal of the penis as well), so that they can become women. I believe that this is a Brahmanic ritual, with the men serving a Hindu Goddess – as women, although I will have to check this,as I was told some time ago. With regard to Buddhism, the Buddha tended to see human desire, (whatever its orientation or direction), as a stumbling point for monastics, but stated that lay people should continue their usual sexual relationship, which was usually within the context of marriage, but this is not always as simple as it sounds. I was once told by a Sri Lankan scholar that certain aspects of Buddhist teachings have been Westernised in translation, so as not to offend Christian sensitivities. For instance, the lay precept against adultry – was originally intended for polgamous marriage, and the Buddha actually forbade sexual relations with anyone ‘outside’ of the various wive’s family. As far as I am aware, the Buddha had no opinion upon gender preference or sexual orientation – for him, desire is the cause of suffering – and with that perspective, the use to which desire is then put, is of no religious matter as such. Besides, the Buddha advocated compassion and loving kindness toward all beings.

    • mandyf January 7, 2012 at 4:59 am #

      In India, the women you refer to are the Hijra. They are castrated and the penis is removed, but there is no reconstructive surgery to create an actual vaginal canal with labia, etc.. In general, they live communally and support each other emotionally, spiritually and financially. Since so few can get work, they beg for alms. When that does not provide sufficiently, many of the younger women turn to prostitution. Since few if any marry, they live in the “family” until death. When they are too old to bring in any money, the younger girls support the elders with the belief that one day they will receive the same kindness. From a spiritual standpoint, I do believe you are correct but I am not educated enough on this to be sure. I do know that they are often sought out for a blessing at weddings and births as well I believe. If memory serves correct, I also believe they are rumored to curse those that cause them harm. I also believe they have gained some limited political voice via the Hijra political party in which they are afforded 1 representative.

Comments are closed.

